• English
  • Japanese

Warning concerning SNS friend requests

Recently, a rising number of users are reporting that as a result of approving friend requests from overseas SNS using G Suite(formerly Google Apps) account linking functions, information about their contacts has been read and invitation emails have been sent to the email addresses of acquaintances registered with Google with the name of the user used as the sender.

And on some SNS, when they clicked on "Invite Friend" on the SNS while linked to a G Suite(formerly Google Apps) account, invitation emails were sent to all contacts registered in Google.(Example: LinkedIn, etc.)

In order to avoid harm, be careful about the following points.

  1. Preventive measures
    ・Do not imprudently authorize service links.
    ・On SNS etc., make sure that when linking to a service, you do not link to unnecessary information.
    ・Separately use your own Google account and your keio.jp account.
  2. Recovery measures
    ・Delete unnecessary service links from your Google account information.

For details refer to the following site, etc.

○【Warning】After approving an SNS friend request, your contact information will be read and invitation emails will be sent widely under your name.

http://www.ipa.go.jp/security/topics/alert271028.html (Japanese only)

Last-Modified: November 11, 2016

The content ends at this position.