• English
  • Japanese

G Suite Data Backup Method and Precautions

1. G Suite data backup method | 2. Precautions concerning shared files and folders after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT) | 3. Precautions concerning groups after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT)

1. G Suite data backup method

This introduces how to use Google Takeout to back up G Suite data.

  1. Log into Keio mail (Gmail).

  2. On the Gmail Web mail screen, click Account on the upper right, then click "Account".

  3. Click the "Data and customization".

  4. Click "Download Data".

  5. Select the service you want to back up in "Download Your Own Data", then click "Next steps".
    At first, all services including email (Gmail) are selected.

  6. Select file format and delivery method, then click "Create archive".
    In this example, "file format: zip, and delivery method: send download link by email" are selected.

  7. It may take hours to days for Archive to be completed.

    When Archive is completed, you will receive email like that shown below.

  8. It is downloaded as a zip file, so it can be saved anywhere under any name.

  9. Open (extract) the saved data file.
    For the format of the data, refer to "Data Download: Information by service."

For the procedure for importing backup data for the Gmail obtained into Thunderbird, see "Gmail mbox data import method".

2. Precautions concerning shared files and folders after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT)

Shared files and folders in My Drive or a shared drive (of which you are the only administrator) will no longer be visible to shared users after you leave the university.
* Please move these to a shared drive or change the owner of the files and folders you are sharing in My Drive.

Operation Manual

3. Precautions concerning groups after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT)

If the last or only administrator of a group leaves the university, the other members will no longer be able to use that group.
* Please configure the group so that it has multiple administrators or transfer its ownership.

Operation Manual

Last-Modified: January 28, 2020

The content ends at this position.